Thoughts: It’s about time…

To really observe how one is handling and exploring the perspective of time is quite interesting. I believe that every life changing event gives another perspective of time. Whether you go to University, become a parent, or starting a relationship…. Your former perception of time is done, over, schluss. Hence, since I became a parent, it almost feels that I ‘wasted’ my time a lot when I was young.

Although… that may sound quite negative, in other words I found it a massive luxury in my ‘ former’  single, kids free, student life. How I could easily spend my weekend only partying or trying to see the whole season of 24 or Soprano’s, moving from the couch to the fridge and back….Or just being able to be very occupied to attend EVERY festival in summer and book at least 8 times a year a flight for a trip wherever without thinking. What a life…. ‘sigh.’


Currently it is like this: all the ideas that come to mind and ambitions I have, and then the smack back to reality. Kids that wake up way to early (bye bye yoga routine) or suddenly reduce or extend their nap time now that you thought you had a rhythm. It is definitely no complaint, but it is the law of economics where time management becomes a very scarce product.

Chronos vs. Kairos

img_0748Looking at the phases of my life, it feels like I have lived in different timezones. Not per definition during different ages, more different phases. I love the Greek philosophy about Chronos and Kairos. Chronos governed linear, chronological time. Kairos meaning the indeterminate moment that is right for something to occur. While Chronos is quantitative, Kairos has a qualitative, permanent nature. The term kairos is also used to denote “the appointed time”, “the crucial time”. Chronos is usually portrayed as an old, wise man with a long, grey beard, similar to Father Time. Whilst Kairos be portraited as the extended version of Mother Nature of time?

With all that is going on in my life at this moment I do feel that I have to be very aware of Chronos and Kairos. Father time is just ticking and ticking, while there are a lot of qualitative decisions to be made.

While I am currently not even checking out ONE festival and booking unlimited trips
seems ages away, change is possible. As I am organizing to be settled more and more, in the mean time there are still choices to be made that will have crucial influences on my life. I feel Chronos and Kairos more then ever nowadays. But that means also crucial time will pass by and will open up some air again, closing a phase and maybe even be able to “waste” some time again.

Leave a Reply

